About Us


Dixie State College Celebrity Concert Series (CCS) was formally organized in 1958 with Dr. Ron Garner as manager. Seven professional and non-professional concerts were presented that year. Prior to 1958, irregular presenting periods were extended to the community as is evidenced in a recently discovered season pass dated 1922. That season five concerts were offered at a cost of two-dollars for the year.


Robert Dalton managed and nurtured the series from 1965 to 1995. The manager from 1995 to 2014 was Gail Bunker, who continued to build the legacy and prestige of the concert series.  Gail also introduced a variety of special programs throughout the years including the Special Artist Series - a recital concert program consisting of five to six events.  Mary Stephenson directed the series from 2014 until 2015.  Ginger Nelson is now the Director of Arts Programming, working alongside Karin Edwards, Arts Programming Coordinator for both the CCS and the O.C. Tanner Amphitheater.  The concert series, now under the umberella of Dixie State University Cultural Arts, continues to enhance our local community through our commitment to bringing world-class performing arts to Southern Utah.


A CCS Board of Directors is selected each year to serve one-three seasons. Each year the board strives to select a varied season with the finest concerts financially possible.

Each CCS season is diverse and exhilarating. Some events presented through the years include: St. Petersburg Ballet with Galina Mezentseva, Western Opera Theater, The Brothers Four, Tafelmusik Baroque Orchestra, Albert McNeil Jubilee Singers, Ballet Hispanico, Americus Brass Band, Montana Repertory Theater, Mendelssohn String Quartet with Charles Neidich, The Nylons, William Joseph, Utah Symphony, Turtle Island and Montreux.

Board of Directors

The CCS Board of Directors is a vital arm of the Celebrity Concert Series. Board members volunteer their time to ensure the series remains a pilar of artistic expression. Board members each have a vested interest in the community at large and a love for bringing quality performances to this area.


Past Board Presidents:

Ron Garner              1958-59

Ted Peterson           1960-61

Sterling Gerber       1962-63

Ron Garner              1963-65

Robert Dalton         1965-69

Roene DiFiore        1969-71

Barbara Watson     1971-72

Jonette Reber        1972-73

Ruth Latimer           1973-74

Launa Whitehead   1974-75

Kris Gornichec/Fred Wenzel    1975-76

Janice Whitehead   1976-77

Richard Hazen        1977-78

Liz Hains                 1978-79

Robert Shepherd    1979-80

Florence Oates       1980-81

Cheer Owens          1981-82

Marilyn Larson        1982-83

Robert Shepherd    1983-84

Linda Lowe             1984-85

Sharon Stebbins     1985-86

Raymond Lowe       1986-87

Bette Arial                1987-88

Audrey Shumway    1988-89

G. Braunberger        1989-90

Joe Peterson           1990-91

Ted Shumway          1991-92

Rick Arial                 1992-93

Pat Lynsky               1993-94

Kathy Bywater         1994-95

Ron Garner             1995-96

Kathy Smith             1996-97

Daryl Young            1997-98

Clark McMullin        1998-99

Carole Williams       1999-00

Carol Lakin              2000-01

Bob Lakin                2001-02

Doug Alder              2002-03

Allison McArthur      2003-04

Gary Terry               2004-05

Jon Mizukawa         2005-06

William Ostler          2006-08

Don Harper             2008-10

Clark Benson          2010-11

Toni Caplin              2012-15

Jill Sevy                   2015-16

Mary k. Temple       2016-17

William Bluhm         2017-18